The Awesome Book Awards was launched in 2016 specifically to inspire children aged 7-10 years. The award offers pupils, rather than publishers and booksellers, the opportunity to vote for their favourite books from the five shortlisted authors in order to select the winner.

  • 2017 - Time Travelling with a Hamster by Ross Welford
  • 2018 - Cogheart by Peter Bunzl

Here is the link for you to sign-up.

All registered schools will be invited to bring pupils to the ceremony. If you are not able to attend, you can still encourage your pupils to read the books and they will still be able to vote on their favourite.

Voting will open on Monday 11th March 2019. Pupils will give five points to their favourite book, four for their second favourite, and so on. Librarians/English teachers will access the Awesome Book Awards website and submit the total scores for their school. Schools will have until Friday 26th April 2019 to do this.

The Awards Ceremony is open to children who have read the five shortlisted titles, along with a parent/guardian/as part of a school group. In early March 2019, we will send registered schools information about how to request tickets. We can guarantee that all schools who wish to attend will be allocated tickets but numbers will be limited. We hope to accommodate as many readers and their families as possible.

All shortlisted authors are invited to attend the ceremony and give a presentation. Last year’s winner of the Awesome Book Awards, Peter Bunzl will attend the event as well as our Patron of Reading Gareth P. Jones. Peter Bunzl will announce the winner of the awards.

Refreshments will be provided and Pea Green Boat Books will be selling all of our attending authors’ books. There will be time allocated at the end of the evening for book signing.