Awesome Book Awards 2020

Join us for the virtual Awesome Book Awards 2020!



The Awesome Book Awards is a prize that honours the best new fiction authors for young readers aged between 7 and 10. It is an annual competition run by Cranleigh Schools. To be eligible for the 2020 award, titles had to be a UK-based author’s debut novel, suitable for able readers in the listed age group, appealing to both boys and girls, and available in paperback from May 2018. Thousands of pupils from schools across the South east read the whole shortlist and will then vote for their favourite overall.

To find out more about the awards, please click here, and to read about previous Awesome Book Awards years, please click here.

Awesome Book Awards 2020 Shortlist

A Darkness of Dragons

Boy Underwater

The Boy at the Back of the Class

The House with Chicken Legs

The Train to Impossible Places