History of the Awards

Awesome Book Awards 2022 Shortlist



The Beast and the Bethany

The Boy Who Made Everyone Laugh

The Valley of Lost Secrets

Winner – The Beast and The Bethany by Jack Meggitt-Phillips

Awesome Book Awards 2021 Shortlist


The Garden of Lost Secrets

The Girl Who Stole an Elephant

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency

The Switching Hour

The Awesome Book Awards 2021 was held as a virtual event for the second time due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The winner of our 2021 award was Thomas Taylor, the author of the fantastic novel Malamander!

The world’s one and only book dispensary. A library will lend you the book you want, while a bookshop sells it for a price. In this place, however, it’s the book that chooses you.

Thomas Taylor, Winner of The Awesome Book Awards 2021

Awesome Book Awards 2020 Shortlist

A Darkness of Dragons

Boy Underwater

The Boy at the Back of the Class

The House with Chicken Legs

The Train to Impossible Places

The Awesome Book Awards 2020 was held as a virtual event for the first time in the Awards history due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Our 2020 winner, Adam Baron, author of Boy Under, was kind enough to send us a thank you message after the event!

Awesome Book Awards 2019 Shortlist

Being Miss Nobody


Running on the Roof of the World

The Ice Garden

The Starman and Me

Winner – Being Miss Nobody by Tamsin Winter

Reading is the best thing you can do for your brain but also your heart. It increases your empathy and caring and getting young people reading will really make a difference to their lives…I wanted to write a story that included all the pressures that children are growing up with. Social media can be a way to create and connect but also can bring real pressure and difficulty

Tamsin Winter, Winner of The Awesome Book Awards 2019

Awesome Book Awards 2018 Shortlist


Erica’s Elephant

Radio Boy

The Goldfish Boy

The Secret of Nightingale Wood

Winner – Cogheart by Peter Bunzl

Read as much as you can, and write as much as you can – anything and everything. Poetry, novels, short stories, non-fiction – whatever interests you.
Read it all and write it all, and don’t fear failure – you learn by trial and error until you’ve found your voice and the story you want to tell.

Awesome Book Awards 2017 Shortlist

Time Travelling with a Hamster

The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow

Beetle Boy

Aubrey and the Terrible Yoot

The Imagination Box

Winner – Time Travelling with a Hamster, by Ross Welford

Ross Welford, winner of the 2017 Awesome Book AwardsI was surprised and delighted to be shortlisted and even happier to have won. The shortlist was impressive. Writing can be a lonely job and awards like these are really important for us to hear from our readers what they thought and for us to meet fellow authors